Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)

« Back to Glossary Index

The mission of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission is to promote the integrity, resilience, and vibrancy of the U.S. derivatives markets through sound regulation.

The CFTC organization consists of the Commissioners, the offices of the Chairman, and the agency’s operating units.

The Commission consists of five Commissioners appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate, to serve staggered five-year terms. The President designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairman. No more than three Commissioners at any one time may be from the same political party.

Divisions of the CFTC include:

– Clearing and Risk (DCR)
– Enforcement (DOE)
– Market Oversight (DMO)
– Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight (DSIO)

« Back to Glossary Index